RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS OF THE ORRVILLE BOARD OF EDUCATION Minutes of Regular Meeting April 15, 2025

The Orrville Board of Education met for the Regular Meeting on April 15, 2025 at 5:30 p.m. in the OHS Library. Employees present were Dr. David Toth, Mark Dickerhoof, and Joe Shumar.

Pledge of Allegiance

Roll Call - Mr. Lorson, Mrs. Stark, Mrs. Kovacs, and Mrs. Middleton were present.

Presentations - Coach Mark Besancon and Senior members of the baseball team Tolan Clark, Parker Gravatt, AJ Hills, and Kaleb Wayt, shared their experience completing community service for the Salvation Army over Spring Break. Mr. Reno Contipelli of the Ohio School Boards Association presented an award to Mr. Pat Lorson for his 20 years of service as a School Board Member.

Reports of Principals - The Principals provided updates on current building events to the Board.

Public Participation on Agenda items - None at this time.

037-2025 AGENDA APPROVAL

A motion was made to approve the April 15, 2025 Agenda plus Addendum.

Mr. Lorson	Yes <u>x</u> No	Moved	<u>Mrs. Stark</u>
Mrs. Stark	Yes <u>x</u> No	Seconded	<u>Mrs. Middleton</u>
Mrs. Middleton	Yes <u>x</u> No	Passed	<u> </u>
Mrs. Kovacs	Yes <u>x</u> No	Failed	
Dr. Roadruck	Absent	Vote	<u>4 - 0</u>

038-2025 TREASURER'S CONSENT AGENDA

A motion was made to approve the Treasurer's agenda as follows:

- A. Approved the minutes for the March 18, 2025 regular Board meeting and the special Board meeting on April 3, 2025.
- B. Approved the March 2025 financial report.
- C. Approved the following Board Policy updates:

IGBLA	Promoting Parental Involvement
BCE	Board Committees
DJF-R	Purchasing Procedures
JEFB	Released Time for Religious Instruction
JGE	Student Expulsion
JHCD(V1)	Administering Medicines to Students
BD	School Board Meetings
DECA	Administration of Federal Grant Funds
DID	Inventories (Fixed Assets)
DJF	Purchasing Procedures
EDE	Computer/Online Services
GBH (Also JM)	Staff-Student Relations
IGAH/IGAI	Family Life Education/Sex Education
IGBA	Programs for Students with Disabilities
IGCH-R (Also LEC-R)	College Credit Plus
IGBA	Programs for Students with Disabilities
IJ	Guidance Program
JECBB	Interdistrict Open Enrollment (Statewide)
JHC	Student Health Services and Requirements

JHCA		Physical Examinations of Stude	nts	
JHCD-R-1		Administering Prescription Med	ications to S	Students (General Regulation)
JHF		Student Safety		
JHG		Reporting Child Abuse and Mar	ndatory Trai	ning
JM (Also GBH)		Staff-Student Relations	-	-
KBA		Public's Right to Know		
LEC-R (Also IG	CH-R)	College Credit Plus		
Mr. Lorson	Yes <u>x</u>	_ No	Moved	<u>Mrs. Kovacs</u>
Mrs. Stark	Yes <u>x</u>	No	Seconded	<u>Mrs. Middleton</u>
Mrs. Middleton	Yes <u>x</u>	No	Passed	X

Failed

Vote

4 - 0

039-2025 SUPERINTENDENT'S AGENDA

Mrs. Kovacs

Dr. Roadruck

A motion was made to approve the Superintendent's agenda as follows:

Yes <u>x</u> No _____

Absent

- A. Approved the resignation or retirement of the following staff: Retirement: Jenny Brooker, Buffe Hamsher, Karen Lewis, and Richard Sargeant. Resignation: Grayson Abend and Hannah Jackson.
- B. Approved three year administrative contracts for the following staff: Erica Kayatin, Sylvester Slaughter, David Sovacool, Dan Steidl, Catherine Swejk, and Amy Wilson.
- C. Approved one year contracts for the following staff: Alex Alger, Shea Allman, Samantha Anderson, Marissa Brown, Rebecca Carter, Brandon Fetzer, Craig Grimes, Elizabeth Hochstetler, Michael Huberty, Hanna Jake, Jamieson Keeney, Michelle Lemasters, Kaitlyn Miday, Coddie Phillips (New), Christina Sayre (New), Timothy Vierheller, Tiffany Werntz and Hayley Yates.
- D. Approved two year contracts for the following staff: Micayla Bahler, Honoree Cruz, Elyse Cummings, Megan Deis, Rebecca Dickerhoof, Cassandra Freeman, Sarah Guello, Jill Holland, Kevin Indermuhle, Alexis Mason, Emily Meredith, Angela Richmond-Rossiter, Joelle Robertson, Elle Shumney, Jacob Stuart, Hannah Tomassetti, Megan Tomes, Rheanna Vura, Hannah Wortman, Sarah Wyatt, and Matthew Zuercher.
- E. Approved three year contracts for the following staff: Kaylie Davis, Lindsey Godosev, and Ashley Slabaugh.
- F. Approved the employment of certified substitutes, pending proper certification, Makenna Geiser, Margaret Moran and Jenna Soyars.
- G. Approved the non-renewal of the following federally funded certified employees Alexis Elliott, Rachel McIntosh, Christina Michaels, Elizabeth Stoll, and Betty Zehe-Blankenship.

Mr. Lorson	Yes <u>x</u>	No	Moved	<u>Mr. Lorson</u>
Mrs. Stark	Yes <u>x</u>	No	Seconded	<u>Mrs. Stark</u>
Mrs. Middletor	n Yes <u>x</u>	No	Passed	<u> </u>
Mrs. Kovacs	Yes <u>x</u>	No	Failed	
Dr. Roadruck	Absent		Vote	5 <u>–0</u>

Public Participation on Non-Agenda Items - None at this time.

040-2025 EXECUTIVE SESSION

A motion was made to go into Executive Session for the purpose of discussing the appointment, employment, dismissal, discipline, promotion, demotion, or compensation of an employee and negotiations.

Mr. Lorson	Yes <u>x</u>	No	Moved	Mrs. Middleton
Mrs. Stark	Yes <u>x</u>	No	Seconded	<u>Mrs. Stark</u>
Mrs. Middleton	Yes <u>x</u>	No	Passed	<u> </u>
Mrs. Kovacs	Yes <u>x</u>	No	Failed	
Dr. Roadruck	Absent		Vote	<u>4 - 0</u>

President Lorson called the Board back to regular session at 6:20 p.m.

041-2025 ADJOURN

A motion was made to adjourn:

Mr. Lorson	Yes <u>x</u>	No	Moved	<u>Mrs. Kovacs</u>
Mrs. Stark	Yes <u>x</u>	No	Seconded	<u>Mr. Lorson</u>
Mrs. Middleton	Yes <u>x</u>	No	Passed	<u> </u>
Mrs. Kovacs	Yes <u>x</u>	No	Failed	
Dr. Roadruck	Absent		Vote	<u>4 - 0</u>

President

Treasurer